New Zealand

The New Zealand general election took place on Saturday 23 September 2017 to elect the members of the 52nd New Zealand Parliament. 

In the Global Vote, the clear winner was Jacinda Ardern, the new leader of the New Zealand Labour party, with a resounding 42% share of the vote.

In the official election, voters in New Zealand itself awarded the National party 58 seats, well ahead of Labour's 45, so the incumbent Prime Minister Bill English will soon be talking to NZ First leader Winston Peters about forming a fourth term National-led government.

As is the practice with assembly elections on the Global Vote, we gave voters the opportunity to vote for the Head of Government rather than for a party, as if this were a direct election of the country's leader. 

With sincere thanks to Andras Szesztai for his invaluable help in preparing the candidate profiles.